Recap of UFC 135

So yet another night in the books. I think the main card was phenomenal, but once again we focus on the early fights here. The unsung warriors of MMA had another nice showing, with Big Sexy not having that bad of a night either. Winning 60% of my picks I move to 13-5 for a .722 win percentage. As always, I’d like to take a look at what I did wrong.

Takeya Mizugaki vs Cole Escovedo

-This was undoubtedly a hard one to pick. Both men hadn’t looked good recently and I went for the upset. I only was Fair with my confidence level so once again it is the unsure ones holding me back.

Junior Assuncao vs Eddie Yagin

– I have to give this to Assuncao, the guy has improved. It looks like he might make this run in the UFC a little longer. He definitely surprised me and cost me this Good confidence pick.

All in all a decent night. I’ll try to do a bit better for this weekend. Stay tuned for those picks.

However, it’s pretty important to take a peek at what I did right too. Here’s a few things I not only got right, but successfully predicted as well:

James Te Huna would expose Ricardo Romero’s chin further

-Te Huna might have more power than thought, but Romero’s chin is definitely suspect as well. And he got to have a nice look at the mat due to that.

Tony Ferguson has some legit hands

-I know that Riley has had jaw problems in the past, but Ferguson’s unorthodox offense hit him enough to break his jaw if it was made out of granite. Riley once again didn’t impress.

Boestch will be able to control Ring

-I’d say he looked pretty good. Not as solid as my other picks, but once again pretty good.

Happy Pickings,

Big Sexy

Leave a Reply

