UFC on Versus 6 Recap

As always, Prelim Picker likes to stay responsible for the picks posted. This weekend is no different, although there are not many to lament over. A 5-1 (.833) record for the event brings my total record up to 18-6 (.750). Not too shabby. However, I do have to note I dropped my first Great confidence match-up and lets look at what happened.

Shane Roller vs TJ Grant

-As I said, this was a Great confidence pick for me, mostly due to the fact that I thought Roller’s wrestling would take over. I must have underestimated how good the weight cut would be for Grant, as he looked very strong. I will say this though, even if Roller wasn’t winning on the cards, he did NOT tap.

And now on to what I said that was clearly right (there was a lot of it)

I question whether or not Joseph Sandoval can get his hands on Walel Watson.

-Walel, although I had his submissions being a major reason, kept the distance like I figured he would. He  threw his kicks in bunches and made Sandoval pay early. This kid is good and he’s only going to get better.

Paul Sass can get the fight where he wants better than Cody McKenzie

-I pointed out how the underdog has a lot better chance getting the fight to his spot than our other crazy submission artist and he delivered. Johnson look reluctant to go to the ground ever and Sass didn’t give him an option.

Rafaello Oliveira doesn’t have the power for Yves Edwards nor the grappling.

-Edwards showed he could bet him anywhere the fight went, which he also had choice over.

Also this event saw our first “Guest Picker”, Mr. Johny Hendricks who threw his opinion in on four fights. Although the night did not end well for him as he took a final record of 1-3 in those fights against Prelim Pickers 3-1. Don’t worry Johny you can still beat me up. We’d like to thank him again for joining us and we wish him luck in his next fight (Jon Fitch, UFC 141). Look soon for my UFC 136 picks!

Happy Pickings,

Big Sexy

Leave a Reply

