UFC 138 Picks

So, after starting off 3-0 with the Guest Pickers, I have nobody for this weekend (must all be scared). No but seriously, it is for the same reason that it has taken me this long to put up the picks, Winter storm Alfred. I know what you’re asking, “why did they name it Alfred?” and I really don’t know. Those of you who live in the Northeast United States know what I’m talking about though and Big Sexy’s power has only recently been turned back on. So, with research in the bag and some hunches to go on, here’s what I’ve got cooked up for this weekend.

John Maguire vs Justin Edwards

  • My Pick: John Maguire
  • Reasoning: Edwards beat a pretty highly touted prospect in Jorge Lopez and proved me wrong in his second UFC bout. Yet, I’m still not sold on the guy who dropped a decision to Clay Harvison. Maguire, meanwhile, has run up a five-fight win streak and has only been stopped once in his pretty long career. That stoppage was to Kong Watson (no shame in that). With the experience factor on Maguire’s side as well as the recent hot streak I’m going with him.
  • Confidence: Good

Michihiro Omigawa vs Jason Young

  • My Pick: Jason Young
  • Reasoning: I won’t sugarcoat this one at all. I don’t like Michihiro Omigawa. I’m not saying that I don’t like him as a person, I don’t know him. What I’m saying could better be phrased by Georges St. Pierre: “I am not impressed by your performance”. Are people high on him because of his split decision win over Hatsu Hioki? Once again, I don’t really see that as a big deal. Now, Shotgun Young hasn’t been a world beater either, but I had him taking a round off of Poirier and I think he can take Omigawa.
  • Confidence: Fair

Rob Broughton vs Philip de Fries

  • My Pick: Philip de Fries
  • Reasoning: Usually I am skeptical about taking a heavyweight who relies on his grappling this heavily (see Jon Olav Einemo), but the Sunderland native is different. He’s a really big guy and I think he’s got the wrestling chops to get Broughton down. I think if Broughton keeps it on his feet he could be okay. His chin is tough, just ask Travis Browne. I just don’t think he can keep it up. De Fries only way to finish this one is by submission and I see him doing just that. 
  • Confidence: Good

Che Mills vs Chris Cope

  • My Pick: Che Mills
  • Reasoning: Okay, let it be know, I am a C-Murder fan. I laughed at the whole “Whoooo” think, I was impressed at his improvement when he beat Chuck O’Neil and he’s got a really comical nickname. That being said, he’s way over his head. Cope is the type that will get punchy at times and forget to keep his hands on his chin. Unlike Chuck O’Neil, Mills will make him pay for that. Mills has got nice kicks and altogether diverse striking. 
  • Confidence: Great

Chris Cariaso vs Vaughan Lee

  • My Pick: Vaughan Lee
  • Reasoning: There is absolutely no shame to be found in Cariaso’s recent two losses. Michael McDonald and Renan Barao are both formidable opponents. In the end though, he’s not a finisher and with the pacing Lee sets you have to be. With only two of his eighteen career fights going the distance, Lee pushes until something breaks. In this case, I don’t think it’ll be him.
  • Confidence: Good
So, there you have it. And for those of you looking close enough, you might see a pattern. That’s right! I went for the Brit sweep on the prelims. Let’s see it happen for all of our friends across the Atlantic.
Happy Pickings,
Big Sexy
Leave a Reply

