UFC 141 Picks (and unfortunately a brief mention of how I did at UFC 140)

Now, I would completely neglect to mention the last UFC eevnt, but I am all about accountabillity. 2-5. Yes, 2-5. Buit my overall record still sits at 43-26, so lets please move one. UFC 141 has some pretty interesting prelims. Lets see what they have to offer.

Junior Assuncao vs. Ross Pearson

  • My Pick: Ross Pearson
  • Reasoning: Ross Pearson is going to be a very strong 145er. He had a very solid build up a class and I think he’ll be stronger than ever down a class. Meanwhile, Assuncao’s only real hope to take out Pearson is to get him down and submit him and, to be honest, I just don’t see him getting the Brit down. So, how will it end on the feet? In the words of Clubber Lang “Pain”.
  • Confidence: Extreme

Danny Castillo vs. Anthony Njokuani

  • My Pick: Anothny Njkokuani
  • Reasoning: I am a huge fan of Njokuani’s kickboxing and Muay Thai. If you doubt it, look at his fight with Edson Barboza. Barboza is on a tear and the only minor trip up is a round where the Nigerian got the best of him. And sure, Castillo beat up Joe Daddy recently, but so could have my Mommy. Trust me, I’m visiting her this Christmas and she arm bar him.
  • Confidence: Good

Dong Hyun Kim vs. Sean Pierson

  • My Pick: Dong Hyun Kim
  • Reasoning: Both of these guys can grapple for sure. But I cannot, in good faith, pick against a guy who’s only loss can to Condits power and has been able to hold every single other guy down. His Judo is better and his ground game is better.  
  • Confidence: Good

Efrain Escudero vs. Jacob Volkmann

  • My Pick: Efrain Escudero
  • Reasoning: I might be the only one picking him, but Efrain is not as bad as people have made him look. I think in all honesty, he got fired from the UFC for not making weight (by a lot). A loss to Charles Ovliveira and Evan Dunham is nothing to shake your head at. His ground game happens to be quite good and even if Volkmann gets him down, I think Hecho could be dangerous from his back. Plus, add in hunger and desire not to go back to the minors.
  • Confidence: Fair

Luis Ramos vs. Matt Riddle

  • My Pick: Matt Riddle
  • Reasoning: Ramos doesn’t really seem to be able to finish anyone. Almost all of his wins come by decision. Riddle likes to push the pace and even though he hasn’t finished too many, the guy has power in his hands. We’ve seen it. More importantly, Massachusetts native Dan Simmler has seen it. And if you don’t know what I’m talking about, look it up.
  • Confidence: Great

Manny Gamburyan vs. Diego Nunes

  • My Pick: Manny Gamburyan
  • Reasoning: Remember when this guy KO’d Mike Brown for a shot at Aldo? Yeah, me too. Remember when Nunes looked less than perfect against Brown and squeeked out a decision. Me too. Now, I’m not a big fan of MMAth, but…
  • Confidence: Good

So there you have it. Enjoy FRIDAYs fights, especially this enormous main card.

Merry Pickings,

Big Sexy

Leave a Reply

