Another Milestone… First UFC on FX Picks

Got to love the increased number of free fights the UFC is offering. Sure, before I could start up my computer and log into Facebook to watch those fights I wouldn’t normally get (the ones I specialize in). However, while I was sitting in my office, face inches away from the screen, my 40 inch television would be taunting me from down the hall. Fear no more my orthogonal friend, you will be the center of my attention tomorrow for this wonderful group of throw downs.

Jorge Rivera vs. Eric Schafer

  • My Pick: Eric Schafer
  • Reasoning: I really think that the drop down in weight was good for Schafer. He looked to have the power to deal with Simpson, a very game opponent in his first run out. The only thing that isn’t making it with the weight is the stamina. If he has done work on that, I see no reason he won’t be able to take Rivera down and beat on him a bit.
  • Confidence: Fair

Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Kamal Shalorus

  • My Pick: Khabib Nurmagomedov
  • Reasoning: I was a big fan of the Prince of Persia. I still am in many ways. However, after seeing his stand up exposed a bit, my thoughts of him have kind of reduced down to a strong wrestler with work needed on his stand up. Add in a long lay off and it doesn’t look good. So, with that recipe for disaster laid out, lets look at the other side of the cage. 16-0 Soviet who holds the rank of International Master of Sambo as well as Soviet hand-to-hand fight champion. The man can and will finish in any way and he will do so without a smile on his face…. he must break you (had to).
  • Confidence: Good

Charlie Brenneman vs. Daniel Roberts

  • My Pick: Charlie Brenneman
  • Reasoning: Derailing Rick Story off of one very impressive run has put the Spaniard very high up on my list. Daniel Roberts losing to a skidding and ioncreasingly unimpressive Rich Attonito has put him very low on my list. 
  • Confidence: Extreme

Fabricio Camoes vs. Tommy Hayden

  • My Pick: Fabricio Camoes
  • Reasoning: The impressive record of Hayden is easily outweighed by the fact he had three days notice for this fight. I’d be going against one of my biggest rules picking him. Also, fun fact to throw in there, Camoes has fought Anderson Silva, losing by retirement after a 25 minute first round.
  • Confidence: Great

Daniel Pineda vs. Pat Schilling

  • My Pick: Daniel Pineda
  • Reasoning: Schilling has looked sharp in all five of his appearances. My major worry: five appearances. Seems like he got brought up to the big leagues pretty quick and like I said, for good reasons. When you face somebody with fifteen career wins, all of which are stoppages, I just can’t favor you are very rarely going to get picked by me. In addition, Pineda has split a pair of with impressive Johnny Bedford. 
  • Confidence: Good

Nick Denis vs. Joseph Sandoval

  • My Pick: Nick Denis
  • Reasoning: While I have put a lot of stock in Prelim Picker friend Walel Watson, he knocked Sandoval around pretty easily. Although I think the Gazelle is going to be able to do that to quite a few, the speed at which he did it makes me question Sandoval’s chin. If there is a newcomer in the UFC that you don’t want to run into if you have a suspect chin, it is definitely the Ninja of Love. The man has 9 of his 10 career wins via KO including some pretty brutal ones.
  • Confidence: Great

Honestly, I think this is a great preliminary card to make some money on. A lot of easy mismatches that I think can be exploited, especially if you are using them with parlays.

Happy pickings,

Big Sexy

Leave a Reply

