UFC on Fox 2: Evans vs Davis Picks and Prelim Picker Hits a Milestone

It’s always nice to hit a milestone. A friendly little reminder that “you’ve done well”, even if the only one telling you is yourself and the four family members who read your blog.  Self deprecating humor aside, I really do want to thank the many of you that read my new picks every time. I’m constantly astonished by the growing number of you who care about what I have to say. So, after all that shameless self promotion, am I going to let you down with a mediocre statistic (ala the UFC with the vast majority of their big announcements)? Well, I’ll let you decide. While Charlie Brenneman was grinding Daniel Roberts into the mat, I was yelling at the television “50! 50!”. When the nail finally went in the coffin, Brenneman had earned Prelim Picker our 50th win and moving us further on our night, which finished on a 5-1 note I might add. So, thank you Charlie for the help, thank you to all of the people who have been guest pickers for us and thank you to all of the readers. Now, without further ado, the reason you come to this site…

Evan Dunham vs. Nik Lentz

  • My Pick: Evan Dunham
  • Reasoning: Both of these men put together some very impressive runs over the last couple of years. Dunham won his first 11 career fights (12 if you count being hosed in the Sherk decision), before eventually dropping a fight to the heavy hands of Melvin Guillard. Lentz hadn’t lost since March of 2007 until dropping a recent decision to Mark Bocek. I think this fight gets decided on whether or not Lentz can out wrestle Dunham. Given Dunham’s performance against the Muscle Shark, I don’t think Lentz is strong enough to keep Dunham pinned.
  • Confidence: Fair

Michael Johnson vs. Shane Roller

  • My Pick: Shane Roller
  • Reasoning: Roller has a division I wrestling pedigree, from one of the best college wrestling programs, Oklahoma State. In addition, he’s developed a fairly strong submission game and has recently shown some hidden power in his hands. Johnson’s only UFC win comes against Eddie Faaloloto, a man who I can’t quite figure out how he wound up in the UFC. Throw in the fact that he couldn’t stop the submission that he knew was coming in the last fight  (Sassangle), and I don’t see how he gets out of this one.
  • Confidence: Great

Jon Olav Einemo vs. Mike Russow

  • My Pick: Mike Russow
  • Reasoning: Do not get me wrong, as a submission grappler, I respect Einemo to the fullest extent. The Norwegian has shown that on the mat he can be one of the more deadly in his class. Insert punches and it’s a whole different story. Having only fought once in the last five years and fighting a guy who just recently stopped a wrestler will make this a second straight tough fight for the Golden Glory product.
  • Confidence: Great

George Roop vs. Cub Swanson

  • My Pick: George Roop
  • Reasoning: With the trash talk that these two are dishing out, if this does not wind up fight of the night, I will be severely disappointed. Not to mention, each of the fights I’ve seen from these two have been largely entertaining. What changes my outlook, and I can’t believe I am playing the referee card twice in one post, is the Hatsu Hioki fight. I honestly think Roop had it. He showed the ability to keep distance, much like he did to Josh Grispi, and he has shown some power. I think with the reach and height difference, Swanson is going to have a tough time getting his hands on him.
  • Confidence: Good

Charles Oliveira vs. Eric Wisely

  • My Pick: Charles Oliveira
  • Reasoning: A short while ago, people were talking about how long before it was okay to give Do Bronx a title shot. His grappling is great and, although his stand-up needs work, he compensates by using his reach and kicks to stay away. Although he has recently dropped a couple, the skill of opponents has been much higher, Jim Miller and Donald Cerrone. Wisely makes his octagon debut on not exactly short notice, but close, and this is really not the person he wants it to be against.
  • Confidence: Extreme

Joey Beltran vs. Lavar Johnson

  • My Pick: Lavar Johnson
  • Reasoning: If the aforementioned Roop and Swanson fight doesn’t take fight of the night, here is the reason why. To steal a line from Wesley “Cabbage” Correira, Beltran’s head is full of “rocks and stuff”. Mitrione, Barry and Miocic, all of which have very heavy hands, all failed to put him down. They did, however, all manage to put a beating on him he won’t soon forget. Johnson can bring that same beating without having to worry about falling victim to his own poor submission defense. I doubt Beltran will even go there.
  • Confidence: Good

Chris Camozzi vs. Dustin Jacoby

  • My Pick: Chris Camozzi
  • Reasoning: Camozzi has had a bumpy road. Breaking his jaw in his preliminary fight win on the Ultimate Fighter, being fired before he deserved to be and losing a back and forth fight in his last bout. Jacoby, admittedly has some strong hands, but showed a weakness in his wrestling. Whereas, that may not always be the first place Camozzi goes, he is much strong physically.
  • Confidence: Good

 

Once again, I will gush about the amount of fights the UFC has been giving us fans recently. Everyone can complain about FuelTV or other platforms that they have chose, but to be able to flip on my television and just get fights (without loads of cash) is always a beautiful thing. So, please enjoy this night of fights. I hope my breakdown leads you to increased enjoyment and/or wealth.

Happy Pickings,

Big Sexy

Leave a Reply

