UFC 148: It’s Not Goodbye… Just Until Later

Well my picker fans, the PrelimPicker is going on a long overdo vacation. I’ll be gone for most of the month of July and it appears for the first time since starting this site, I will miss two events. Sad, I know. However, I decided I will leave you with one more batch of prelims before I go on one of the most anticipated cards of all time. Enjoy.

Yoislandy Izquierdo vs. Rafaello Oliveira

  • My Pick: Rafaello Oliveira
  • Reasoning: In matches I’ve seen with Izquierdo, it is very apparent that he has some solid boxing skills. Being raised in Cuba, this makes perfect sense. However, his grappling seems to be quite a bit behind where it needs to be. Tractor is a black belt in jiu jitsu and although I wouldn’t say it is a very high level black, he is still so far ahead of where Izquierdo is that I expect Oliveira to capitalize on the first slip up.
  • Confidence: Great

John Alessio vs. Shane Roller

  • My Pick: Shane Roller
  • Reasoning: Roller is very lucky to be receiving this fight after dropping three straight, a fighter is rarely granted a fourth chance. Knowing all of this, Shane is sure to be geared up for the fight. He also has a lot stylistically in common with Alessio. Both have wrestling, but don’t use it as much as they probably should. Both have plenty of power in their hands. I think this one plays out of the feet and Roller frustrates him enough to put him in a bad spot.
  • Confidence: Fair

Riki Fukuda vs. Constantinos Philippou

  • My Pick: Constantinos Philippou
  • Reasoning: Philippou has been on a nice run recently. He has strung together three straight showing a lot of promise with a very well-rounded skill set. Fukuda, on the other hand, just beat out a very sluggish Steve Cantwell and even within that match he had trouble dealing with the gassed fighter. I think if somebody with stamina like Philippou pushes the pace for three rounds it will give Fukuda fits.
  • Confidence: Great

Fabricio Camoes vs. Melvin Guillard

  • My Pick: Fabricio Camoes
  • Reasoning: So, here’s my big upset pick for this go round. I honestly think that Melvin Guillard has to learn to respect the fighters that he’s fighting. Although a lot of people have pointed to his obvious weakness in grappling, I think a large, less-obvious problem is his ego. Although this works for some fighters, it seems to be detrimental to Guillard. Camoes, being a low profile opponent, might have a lot of focus put in his jiu jitsu black belt, but he is certainly not a slouch on the feet either. He’s got the type of power in his hands that if Guillard goes in and tries to get cute, he might get popped too or at least stuck in a worse position. 
  • Confidence: Fair

Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Gleison Tibau

  • My Pick: Khabib Nurmagomedov
  • Reasoning: Really, what I think this fight comes down to is who winds up on top. Both of these guys have good grappling pedigrees with Tibau being a very strong-bodied wrestler and Nurmagomedov having some serious sambo and judo skills. However, the Russian in this case seems to have the edge slightly due to his technique. In addition, if their grappling winds up cancelling each other out, I like Khabib to win the fight on his feet as well.
  • Confidence: Good
Happy Pickings and see you for UFC on Fox 4: Shogun vs Vera,
Big Sexy
Leave a Reply

