UFC 159 Picks

Before we get to the picks, I just want to let you know I have some exciting news about an interview coming up. If your a fan of my writing, keep an eye on the mma-manifesto in the coming months. It should be very exciting.

Kurt Holobaugh vs. Steven Siler

  • My Pick: Steven Siler
  • Reasoning: A loss to Darren Elkins does not change how I feel about this kid’s skills. When you see him step into the octagon and beat up Cole Miller like that, you have to respect him. Not to mention, in his last 19 fights he’s only loss 3 and they were to Cole Escovedo, Elkins and Chad Mendes. Needless to say, his recent trend it up.
  • Confidence: Good

Nick Catone vs. James Head

  • My Pick: Nick Catone
  • Reasoning: The Jersey Devil is one we forget due to his recent losses to TJ Waldburger and Chris Camozzi. However, this is a guy who swept Costa Philippou across the scorecards, which is his only loss if you don’t count his debut. In addition, his Pablo Popovich brown belt could come into play in this match up. Head it tough, just nto as tough as Catone.
  • Confidence: Good

Leonard Garcia vs. Cody McKenzie

  • My Pick: Leonard Garcia
  • Reasoning: Does Garcia have the tendency to fight stupid? Yes. Could he possibly drop his head enough to get submitted? Yes. I think it’s far more likely that he’ll connect on a punch to the weak jawed and low handed McKenzie first though.
  • Confidence: Fair

Rustam Khabilov vs. Yancy Medeiros

  • My Pick: Rustam Khabilov
  • Reasoning: I think Medeiros has some solid hands and has shown some decent grappling. However, I’m buying the current influx of Sambo in the MMA world. It seems to have found it’s place and is making an impact on the UFC. I think Khabilov will have the answer grappling wise and finish this.
  • Confidence: Good

Sheila Gaff vs. Sara McMann

  • My Pick: Sara McMann
  • Reasoning: While I love Gaff’s forward approach, I think she’s going to have to modify it here. Sure, those power shots have worked in the past, but McMann is much smarter and wrestle a great deal better than Gaff’s former opponents. If Gaff continues with her usual game plan, she’s going to wind up on her back.
  • Confidence: Great

Ovince St. Preux vs. Gian Villante

  • My Pick: Ovince St. Preux
  • Reasoning: When you are the type of guy who can turtle up Gegard Mousasi and knock someone like TJ Cook (who has a highly underrated chin) out, you have my attention. I think OSP’s striking is just a bit ahead of Villante’s. Plus, Villante is not impressive at all on the ground.
  • Confidence: Good

Johnny Bedford vs. Bryan Caraway

  • My Pick: Johnny Bedford
  • Reasoning: Caraway’s number one avenue for victory is the submission. No question there as 14 of his 17 wins have come that way. With Bedford being a D-1 wrestler and with some solid jiu jitsu defense, I think the chances for that are low. And if he stops it from going down and Caraway is forced to trade, it’s Bedford’s world.
  • Confidence: Good

Happy Pickings,

Daniel

Leave a Reply

